Tesla Model Y Earns IIHS’ 2023 Top Safety Pick+ Award

Image: IIHS

Tesla Model Y has received IIHS’ 2023 Top Safety Pick+ award. This 12 months, the factors were particularly stringent, with only 28 vehicles tested receiving the award.

In 2023, the IIHS developed stricter safety criteria for vehicles because the organization encourages automakers to construct on their advances in vehicle safety. While there have been 101 winners last 12 months, this number has dropped to 48 in 2023. Nevertheless, only 28 of them took home the hardest Top Safety Pick+ award.

“The variety of winners is smaller this 12 months because we’re difficult automakers to construct on the protection gains they’ve already achieved,”said IIHS President David Harkey. “These models are true standouts in each crashworthiness and crash prevention.”

Tesla Model Y was certainly one of the 28 Top Safety Pick+ winners, showing excellent results across all criteria. The vehicle was categorized as a mid-size luxury SUV, which included 8 other vehicles.

Changes to this 12 months’s tests include a tougher side impact test. In accordance with the IIHS, the brand new evaluation involves 82% more impact energy than the unique side impact test. In addition they raised their headlight rating criteria for the Top Safety Pick award, requiring all trim levels of the winning vehicle to be rated “acceptable” or “good.” Previously, a automotive could win an award if one trim level performed well within the evaluation.

The organization has also added a night-time frontal collision avoidance test to the Top Safety Pick+ award criteria. Many advanced safety systems, including automatic braking, don’t work well after sunset, nevertheless some cars, including Tesla Model Y, have shown top results.

Along with the brand new tests, award-winning vehicles must proceed to excel in moderate overlap front crash tests, in addition to each driver- and passenger-side small overlap front crash tests. The organization removed its previous roof strength, vehicle-to-vehicle front crash prevention, and head restraint evaluations from this 12 months’s award benchmarks. To qualify for an IIHS Top Safety Pick+ award, a vehicle must earn a “good” rating in each driver- and passenger-side small overlap front tests, plus the moderate overlap front test. They have to also achieve a “good” rating in the brand new side crash tests, a rating of “good” or “acceptable” within the organization’s headlight evaluation, and an “advanced” or “superior” rating in each daytime and nighttime vehicle-to-pedestrian front crash prevention.

© 2023, Eva Fox | Tesmanian. All rights reserved.


We appreciate your readership! Please share your thoughts within the comment section below. 

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Get the daily news directly in your inbox